Sacred Comfort

Care for the Soul

We are rare

holding light“We are in moments pure and ageless as light, and with the very next breath, we drop things or bruise the treasures of a lifetime. We need to soothe ourselves, not blame ourselves. We are rare, not perfect, and seem destined to know all there is briefly, only to pound it into bread.” Mark Nepo, poet, philosopher & spiritual writer.

Last week I wrote about being a Woman Who Does Too Much.  Not being able to hold everything I take on, things and people sometimes slip from my grasp and shatter on the ground at my feet.   I berate myself: Shoulda known better than to try to add one more thing… but as they say, you don’t know what you don’t know. We do the best we can with what we have at the time. Progress not perfection. As much as I hate the cliché sound of those little ditties, I must must must begin to apply them to my life.  Not being omniscient, I have no way of knowing how something’s going to play out. Also, I’m learning. I am a work in progress.  Every time things don’t go as planned, I have the opportunity to try again, try in a new way, try with my newfound knowledge of what won’t work.

I know all there is to know, but only briefly. Only briefly.

I write about compassion a lot, because it’s really high time to have more of it, by which I mean I really need to give more of it. More self-compassion, more you-compassion, more compassion for those who’ve hurt me and for those I pass on the street every day.  Self-compassion is crucial. It counteracts the harsh voice of the brutal inner judge – the one that talks to me just about non-stop. Not having to be so damn perfect all the time allows for spontaneity, without which creativity blows away like motes of dust. When the inner judge shows up, I can say “thank you for sharing.”  I can welcome Mara for tea when he shows up at my doorstep. I can stop, I can breathe, I can witness the marvel of release in the moment. Thank you for this, my life.

If you want others to be happy, practice compassion. If you want to be happy, practice compassion. –Dalai Lama

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 20, 2013 by in Compassion, Creativity, Mark Nepo and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 2,119 hits

Sacred Comfort on Facebook

Steve Blank

Entrepreneurship and Innovation

Angelic Soulfood

~i~ Food for your soul, to make your life whole ~i~

Sacred Comfort

Interfaith Spiritual Direction: Care for the Soul

The Human Impulse

Thoughts on living by just being authentically you - that is the driving impulse of humanity...

True North Business Management

Helping entrepreneurs get more done.

Beguine Again

Slow Down, Beguine Again: Spiritual Practices in Context

A Wilderness Love Story

"So I will allure her, I will lead her into the desert and speak to her heart." Hos 2:16

Sacred Comfort

Care for the Soul

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

True North Business Management

Administrative Strategist for the Social Entrepreneur

