Sacred Comfort

Care for the Soul

Metta Monday: the weight of your aloneness

You are

My childhood ended when I was seven and was served up a reality that didn’t match my expectations. I still carry with me the story of my past, and sometimes I cling to it as the only true thing about me. That I am my story, that my past defines me somehow, that I still need to sit down and shut up. That I still need to take it, even when I don’t want to.

It helps to remember that everyone carries a tremendous amount sadness around, and I’m no exception – and neither are you. In practicing compassion for others, I learn to apply that compassion to myself.  At this moment, I am held in the Embrace, and you are right there with me. I hope you find peace today in knowing that you are not alone and no longer need to carry “the weight of your aloneness.” Set it down, and be free.  I just love this poem by David Whyte.  May it comfort you as it does me.

 Everything is Waiting for You

Your great mistake is to act the drama
as if you were alone.  As if life
were a progressive and cunning crime
with no witness to the tiny hidden
transgressions.  To feel abandoned is to deny
the intimacy of your surroundings.  Surely,
even you, at times, have felt the grand array;
the swelling presence, and the chorus, crowding
out your solo voice.  You must note
the way the soap dish enables you,
or the window latch grants you freedom.
Alertness is the hidden discipline of familiarity.
The stairs are your mentor of things
to come, the doors have always been there
to frighten you and invite you,
and the tiny speaker in the phone
is your dream-ladder to divinity.

 Put down the weight of your aloneness and ease into
the conversation.  The kettle is singing
even as it pours you a drink, the cooking pots
have left their arrogant aloofness and
seen the good in you at last.  All the birds
and creatures of the world are unutterably
themselves.  Everything is waiting for you.

 ~ David Whyte ~

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 28, 2013 by in Compassion, Metta Monday, Poetry and tagged , , .
Steve Blank

Entrepreneurship and Innovation

Angelic Soulfood

~i~ Food for your soul, to make your life whole ~i~

Sacred Comfort

Interfaith Spiritual Direction: Care for the Soul

The Human Impulse

Thoughts on living by just being authentically you - that is the driving impulse of humanity...

True North Business Management

Helping entrepreneurs get more done.

Beguine Again

Slow Down, Beguine Again: Spiritual Practices in Context

A Wilderness Love Story

"So I will allure her, I will lead her into the desert and speak to her heart." Hos 2:16

Sacred Comfort

Care for the Soul

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

True North Business Management

Administrative Strategist for the Social Entrepreneur

