Sacred Comfort

Care for the Soul

Following your thread

 There’s a thread you follow. It goes among
things that change. But it doesn’t change.
People wonder about what you are pursuing.
You have to explain about the thread.
But it is hard for others to see.
While you hold it you can’t get lost.
Tragedies happen; people get hurt
or die; and you suffer and get old.
Nothing you do can stop time’s unfolding.
You don’t ever let go of the thread.

The Way It Is, By William Stafford, 1998

Espresso

I dunno. I’ve certainly lost my thread at various points through the years, (or I’ve gotten tired of carrying it), but it seems like my thread continues to find me, forcing me to pick it back up and follow it. It follows me around whether I’m aware of it or not. For years and years and years I’ve had a dream of owning a coffeehouse. With a bookstore and poetry slams and acoustic music and the menus written on chalkboards.  I followed that thread, going so far as to open a teeny tiny general store, (which I lost in the divorce), then getting busy busy busy with other projects….until one day I noticed that I no longer held the thread in my grasp. I had gotten distracted, and I forgot my Big Dream. Dropped the thread without notice. How does that happen? But no matter. In the storm of loss and confusion, I was bereft, looked down, and my thread lay there at my feet, waiting for me to pick it up and see where we’d go together.  The Big Dream is alive and well, it seems.  The Train of Circumstance carried me to the founders of a most excellent project.  A cafe, community center, sacred space, all rolled into one, Beloved Cafe plans to open in San Francisco in 2013, and it’s my fervent hope that we can get one of them on the East Coast soon after. How cool would that be?

Keep hope alive, and never let go of your thread. That’s the way it is.

One comment on “Following your thread

  1. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 01/18/13 « Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 18, 2013 by in Hope, Poetry, William Stafford and tagged .
Steve Blank

Entrepreneurship and Innovation

Angelic Soulfood

~i~ Food for your soul, to make your life whole ~i~

Sacred Comfort

Interfaith Spiritual Direction: Care for the Soul

The Human Impulse

Thoughts on living by just being authentically you - that is the driving impulse of humanity...

True North Business Management

Helping entrepreneurs get more done.

Beguine Again

Slow Down, Beguine Again: Spiritual Practices in Context

A Wilderness Love Story

"So I will allure her, I will lead her into the desert and speak to her heart." Hos 2:16

Sacred Comfort

Care for the Soul

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

True North Business Management

Administrative Strategist for the Social Entrepreneur

