Sacred Comfort

Care for the Soul

Relax. Nobody’s getting struck by lightning.

There are all manner of ways folks prepare for the new year. I’m not really a big fan of resolutions; I prefer to set intentions, and this year I’m experimenting with something new to me: Tarot cards and the Wheel of the Year spread. I dunno that I’m divining my future, but I do think that the cards represent rich archtypical symbolism from which I can learn a great deal.

This year, it’s my intention to work on my relationships, powers of discernment and ability to balance. I selected two cards to represent these qualities: The Lovers and Temperance, shown in the center of my Wheel of the Year spread pictured below.

Tarot Wheel of the Year spread

To create your own Wheel of the Year spread, instructions are availalble at http://artofchangetarot.com/

The four cards immediately surrounding the Lovers and Temperence represent lessons for each season.  These I drew randomly from the shuffled deck: 

(Parenthetically, The Hanged Man is a totally awesome card for my New Year’s intentions – I’ll get into this and the others in later posts.)

The TowerMy winter card, The Tower, looks like a scary-ass card: lightening, fire,  people flying out of the windows. Look, the crown is toppled, too!

Actually, the Tower card represents change – drastic change, yes. But nobody’s gonna get struck by lightning.  At least not literally. This card suggests epiphanies, sudden insights, major paradigm shifts.  This is a good card to begin the year meditating on.  How might the energy of The Tower relate to the work I have to do in my relationships, powers of discernment, and ability to balance?

We’re talking about a complete shakeup here, and I’ve already begun to notice this in my life. 

The Tower reminds me that I get nowhere by trying to hold onto my old ideas about you, me, the world, God. Until I surrender my “old” thinking, I won’t be able to embrace a new paradigm. 

The Buddha tought that we create our very own suffering though our craving, attachment, and aversion.

It’s time to put an end to my self-created suffering by letting go and accepting what “is.” I throw out the stale, old ideas that are no longer working and open to new ways of seeing and moving through life.

Right. Easier said than done. Perhaps I can just set them aside for the time being and rest a while. What would God have me be?

In the words of Hafiz:

Just sit there right now
Don’t do a thing
Just rest.

For your separation from God,
From love,

Is the hardest work
In this
World.

from “Cushion for your Head,” The Gift: Poems by Hafiz
Translations by Daniel Ladinsky

Cover of "The Gift"

One comment on “Relax. Nobody’s getting struck by lightning.

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year, or That’s Enough! | Sacred Comfort

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 9, 2013 by in Poetry, Spiritual Practice, Tarot and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 2,119 hits

Sacred Comfort on Facebook

Steve Blank

Entrepreneurship and Innovation

Angelic Soulfood

~i~ Food for your soul, to make your life whole ~i~

Sacred Comfort

Interfaith Spiritual Direction: Care for the Soul

The Human Impulse

Thoughts on living by just being authentically you - that is the driving impulse of humanity...

True North Business Management

Helping entrepreneurs get more done.

Beguine Again

Slow Down, Beguine Again: Spiritual Practices in Context

A Wilderness Love Story

"So I will allure her, I will lead her into the desert and speak to her heart." Hos 2:16

Sacred Comfort

Care for the Soul

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

True North Business Management

Administrative Strategist for the Social Entrepreneur

