Sacred Comfort

Care for the Soul

Happy New Year, or That’s Enough!

Source: dontcallmebetty.tumblr.com via Faith Squared on Pinterest

Source: dontcallmebetty.tumblr.com via Faith Squared on Pinterest

Enough

As I wrote in my journal this morning, the topic that rose to the surface was enough. A big topic, this.

Enough is usually tied to gratitude. Being grateful for what one has, one often finds that we really do have everything we need.  But enough can also be applied to spending our time and energy.  How much must we spend on repairing the hurts of the world before we declare:  enough?

At the suggestion of one of my spiritual mentors I worked on the concept of enough for a good chunk of 2012.  God bless her, she really got through to me on this one. As a spiritual discipline, I check in with her before taking on any new projects.  If it costs time, money, or energy I run it by her before signing myself up.  (Mostly. I’m still learning) Because I’m one of those people that jumps onto a bandwagon as it drives by if it looks like the people on it are having a good time, it’s been a good practice for me to pause.  Pause and ask myself: how much time is this going to require? Why do I want to get involved?  Do I really want to spend my energy on this project?  Do I have the money? Is there a better use of my resources?

Because it’s the New Year and everyone’s talking about their resolutions, I’ll share mine: In 2013, I intend to practice TEMPERANCE, which is defined as moderation in action, thought or feeling; restraint.   As I move through my days I will pause when faced with decisions. I will weigh my options in regard to my available resources.  I will check in with my spiritual community and trust that God’s got my back.

(Read my post about my experiment with the Wheel of the Year tarot card spread, which features the Temperance card. Trust me, it’s cool.)

Happy New Year

And now, with thanks from the wonderful magical women at Faith Squared for sharing this with me, I now pay it forward and share it with you:  A  prayer for the new year from poet John O’Donohue (oh, my, this touched my soul…):

On the day when
the weight deadens
on your shoulders
and you stumble,
may the clay dance
to balance you.

And when your eyes
freeze behind
the grey window
and the ghost of loss
gets in to you,
may a flock of colours,
indigo, red, green,
and azure blue
come to awaken in you
a meadow of delight.

When the canvas frays
in the currach of thought
and a stain of ocean
blackens beneath you,
may there come across the waters
a path of yellow moonlight
to bring you safely home.

May the nourishment of the earth be yours,
may the clarity of light be yours,
may the fluency of the ocean be yours,
may the protection of the ancestors be yours.

And so may a slow
wind work these words
of love around you,
an invisible cloak
to mind your life.

A Blessing for the New Year (Beannacht)
To Bless the Space Between Us

Cover of "To Bless the Space Between Us: ...

2 comments on “Happy New Year, or That’s Enough!

  1. heartsdeesire
    January 9, 2013

    Thank you for visiting my blog. I love John O’Donohue’s poetry. I am enough was one of my mantras for 2012 :-). You have a gorgeous blog!

    • Sarah Hawkins
      January 15, 2013

      I’ve actually just discovered John O’Donohue. I’m loving it – I find that his work speaks to me very deeply.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 1, 2013 by in Poetry, Prayer, Spiritual Practice, Tarot and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 2,119 hits

Sacred Comfort on Facebook

Steve Blank

Entrepreneurship and Innovation

Angelic Soulfood

~i~ Food for your soul, to make your life whole ~i~

Sacred Comfort

Interfaith Spiritual Direction: Care for the Soul

The Human Impulse

Thoughts on living by just being authentically you - that is the driving impulse of humanity...

True North Business Management

Helping entrepreneurs get more done.

Beguine Again

Slow Down, Beguine Again: Spiritual Practices in Context

A Wilderness Love Story

"So I will allure her, I will lead her into the desert and speak to her heart." Hos 2:16

Sacred Comfort

Care for the Soul

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

True North Business Management

Administrative Strategist for the Social Entrepreneur

